33 887
Fashion Jobs

Sid Neigum, Christopher Bates among 2019 CAFA winners

today Jun 4, 2019
Reading time
access_time 2 minutes
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

Canada’s top designers and fashion industry professionals were honoured Thursday evening at the Canadian Arts & Fashion Awards (CAFA).

Jessi Cruickshank hosts the 2019 CAFA. - George Pimentel

The sixth annual ceremony, held at the Fairmont Royal York Hotel, honoured Canadian designers from categories such as womenswear, menswear, accessories, as well as creatives like fashion and art curator Thierry-Maxime Loriot, who was presented with the 2019 Vanguard Award, and Douglas Kirkland, who was presented with the 2019 Outstanding Achievement Award. 
Among the winners, Sid Neigum won big taking home both the Womenswear Designer of the Year Award and a $20,000 grant for international development. 

"I am so pleased to present this award to Sid Neigum so he can continue to showcase and elevate his brand on the world stage. It is so important to support and grow our Canadian talent as they continue to pave inroads within the industry," said Suzanne Rogers.
Meanwhile, the Menswear Designer of the Year Award was presented to Christopher Bates, beating out Canadian brands Frank And Oak, Raised by Wolves and 18 Waits. 
In the accessories category, Dean Davidson beat Mejuri and Biko to take home the accessory designer of the year award.
Among emerging talent in the Canadian landscape, Marie-Ève Lecavalier, was recognized in the fashion category, while Corey Moranis received honours in the emerging accessory category. In collaboration with Swarovski, both emerging talent winners received $10,000 and a year of mentorship with industry leaders.
The outerwear designer of the year award, which recognizes a Canadian outerwear designer who has made a lasting impact on the outerwear industry in Canada and abroad, went to Mackage. 
Among other industry professionals, Max Abadian received the image maker of the year award; Cary Tauben took home the stylist of the year award; the model of the year award was presented to Tasha Tilberg; transgender model Krow Kian received the fresh face of the year award; and the digital fashion influencer of the year award went to Fecal Matter.

Copyright © 2019 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.