Apr 13, 2016
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

USA Nominees announced for the 2016/17 International Woolmark Prize

Apr 13, 2016

The Woolmark Company announced Wednesday the USA menswear and womenswear nominees for the International Woolmark Prize 2016/17.

The womenswear nominees include Gabriella Hearst, Sylvie Millstein of Hellessy, Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia of Monse, Nelly Partow and Sally LaPointe, and the menswear nominees are Abdul Abasi and Greg Rosborough of Abasi Rosborough, Scot Shandalove and Jake Zeitlin of Matiere, Kerby Jean-Raymond of Pyer Moss, Laurence Chandler and Joshua Cooper of Rochambeau and Ant de Padovane, Jacob Wills and Joshua Wills of Second/Layer.
Woolmark will hold six regional events in July in Hong Kong, Sydney, Milan, London, New York and Mumbai where nominees will present a six-piece merino wool capsule collection and outfit to judges. The 12 winning finalists will each receive AU$50,000 and an invitation to participate in the international global finals. The menswear and womenswear finals winners will receive AU$100,000 for fabric sourcing and marketing of their collection.

The International Woolmark Prize launched its menswear award in 2014, which was won by Public School, and Suketdhir won the award for the 2015/2016 season.
M. Patmos won the International Prize for womenswear in 2014/2015, making designer, Marcia Patmos the most recent US-based designer to win the International Final.
Other past US winners include Siki Im, Tanya Taylor, and Altuzarra.

Copyright © 2021 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.